Chapter History

History of the Mu Mu Lambda Chapter

African Americans began moving into the Western Suburbs of Chicago in large numbers between the years of 1969 and 1973. During that period, a number of black civic and social organizations were formed in the Western ‘Burbs. Some of those organizations were:

  • The Coffee Club (later changed to the Progressive Women Club)
  • CYD (a Black Men’s Club)
  • DuPage County NAACP

The rekindling of fraternal bonds blossomed quickly as members of the various organizations got better acquainted. Thus, Greek-letter chapters, representing their respective fraternities and sororities were formed through the affiliation of the civic and social organizations.

“History” states that while attending a meeting with the National Alliance of Businessmen in Washington, D.C., Brothers Art Thompson and Ernie Gibson discussed the formation of an Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. Chapter in the Chicago Western Suburbs. Brother Thompson lived in Wheaton, Illinois and Brother Gibson resided in Glen Ellyn. The need and desire to establish a chapter in the Western Suburbs rapidly gained support from several talented Alpha Men.

An informal meeting was held in February 1976 to entertain the idea of establishing a chapter. Brothers Art Thompson, Ernie Gibson, Robert Wells, Kenneth Watkins, Sr., Mickey Brown, Clarence Lewis, James Ivory, and others attended the meeting. Subsequent meetings were held to establish a committee to work on chapter by-laws. The committee consisted of Brothers Manny Jackson and Ken Watkins, Sr.

First Chapter Officers Elected

  • President Ernie Gibson
  • Vice President James Ivory
  • Recording Secretary Arthur Thompson
  • Corresponding Secretary Mickey Brown
  • Treasurer Charles Dickerson
  • Dean of Pledges Melvin Funchess
  • Editor to the Sphinx Kenneth Watkins, Sr.
  • Chaplain Howard Falls
  • Sergeant-at-Arms Clarence Lewis

Chartering of Mu Mu Lambda Chapter

Mu Mu Lambda was chartered as an Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Chapter (Key #556) on April 14, 1976. There were twenty-two (22) chartering members.

  • Mickey Brown
  • Kenneth Watkins
  • Clarence Lewis
  • Robert Wells
  • Delbert Jones
  • Others have either relocated or passed into Omega Chapter.